New work and some stuff

I am having a great summer so far, between my parents visit to the US and doing a few shows things are pretty busy. I try to get out more during the summer because Seattle averages just over 58 sunny days a year! So I hardly get any artwork done, but I did manage to do this piece since I was feeling kind of guilty not using my new Icarus board.

I love the tightness of drawing shiny silver as much as the large bold colors I get in my Origami set up. So I wanted to combine both in a piece to see if it worked. I was kind of happy with the result and also excited about the possibilities:-D  The icarus board really helped me get vivid colors by melting them in heat. For more information on what’s an icarus board click here.

This piece was done using my usual method of neocolor II and colored pencil on grey pastelbord. Also I wanted to share about my new find for really bright whites – Daniel smith water soluble Oil – titanium white.(Yes it’s water soluble oil!!) I got a sample to try and now am hooked. I used it on this piece for the brightest areas and brushed it on lightly. It glides on smoothly and I am able to add cp on top and the pigment is so rich! I might even try it next time as an under-painting instead of the neo’s.

Self-Reflection – 16×20 , neocolor II, cp’s( luminance, derwents, prismas) and a touch of that water soluble oil color for the brightest spots.

selfreflection_blog

One thought on “New work and some stuff

Leave a Reply

