Happy New year 2011

Wishing everyone happy, healthy and a prosperous New Year! I had a wonderful holiday with friends and now its time to get back to work. I usually do not make any New year resolutions but one of the things I have decided for this year is to experiment a variety of media and techniques. I want to try and express my art in as many forms as possible and be open to new ideas. Let’s see how that goes 🙂

As a beginning I started to experiment with Woodburning (pyrography) and I really seem to like it.  I created a mixed media piece, a clock,  for Explore this! show ( an online juried show organized by the Colored Pencil society of America) using Colored Pencils and Wood burning. This piece also has another significance, its basically done in Warli style.

” Warli art is an ancient Indian folk art tradition of painting of a Maharashtrian tribe called Warli..The trademark of Warli paintings is the use of geometric designs such as triangles, circles, squares, dots and crooked lines are used to depict human figures, animal figures, houses, crops etc. Warli art is known for its monochromatic depictions that express the folk life of socio-religious customs, imaginations and beliefs. Predominately white color is used on a red earthen background. “

Warli clock , measures 9x 12 approx.

 

And this is another fun piece created as a gift, measures around 8×10 .

 

2 thoughts on “Happy New year 2011

  1. Beautiful, Ranjini! I loved doing pyrography as a kid, in fact… had my own wood-burning tool, but it’s long gone now… I just picked up a couple of those wooden cheese boxes (round) from the local market to see what I might do with them… Had also though of doing a clock, so might find out more how you did it in Texas at the CPSA convention! May the new year treat you well and enjoy playing with multi-media!

Leave a Reply

