Relief paintings with Linoleum

As I keep exploring the various possibilities of Colored Pencils, I tried to experiment with Linoleum to create relief paintings. Linoleum is extensively used for printmaking. ” Linocut is a printmaking technique, a variant of woodcut in which a sheet of linoleum (sometimes mounted on a wooden block) is used for the relief surface. A design is cut into the linoleum surface with a sharp knife, V-shaped chisel or gouge, with the raised (uncarved) areas representing a reversal (mirror image) of the parts to show printed. The linoleum sheet is inked with a roller (called a brayer), and then impressed onto paper or fabric.” ( source : Wikipedia)

Here I used the Blick Golden Linoleum block. I drew my design and used the Chisel to carve the surface. I then used acrylics and colored pencil to finish the piece. The piece was then coated with layer of varnish to protect the surface.I really liked the texture I was able to achieve with this technique, reminded me of impressionistic paintings.

Wisdom - 8x10

 

I will be showing this piece along with a couple of my older works at the Small paintings and Miniature show at Gallery North in Edmonds, WA starting March 1st.

2 thoughts on “Relief paintings with Linoleum

  1. Hi Ranjini… This is wonderful! And I’m doing something similar: I am trying using “paperclay” to create a raised surface that I can add texture to also, similar to this or to real clay. Then after it air dries, I coat it with an acrylic gesso “pastel” surface that allows me to use colored pencil pigments on it… although it doesn’t allow very much layering… So, I’ll be doing an under-painting first with solvent-liquified pencil pigments, then I’ll apply the rough gesso coat before adding the colored pencil pigments on top. I’m hoping it will work well for the next Explore This exhibit…

Leave a Reply

