All that Glitters

Here’s my new work that I just finished, it’s my usual combination of color pencils and neocolors on Pastelbord. I did manage to take a few progress shots during the process that explains my technique.

I first begin with a line drawing of my work on pastelbord –

1

Second step is to add Neocolor II water soluble wax crayon, I add them directly without dissolving them.

2

Then I add water to the piece and let it dry overnight. Neocolor dries pretty quickly when wet and more can be added if any areas look washed out. It’s very similar to using watercolors.

3

The final step is adding layers of colored pencils on top of the Neocolor layer to finish the piece. I use bristle brush to blend the neocolor layer and color pencils. Once I feel that I have the proper values I stop burnishing and add the highlights, darks and details. Since getting the Icarus board, I have started doing my last step by heating the pastelbord on it. The heat helps to soften the edges where needed and also punch up the color!

“All the Glitters” – 16×20 on Ampersand pastelbord

goldentrio_blog

Leave a Reply

